Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Committee chairmen are named by Community Council

March 5, 2014
By MEL TOADVINE ( , Lehigh Acres Citizen

Tami Baker, president of the Community Council of Lehigh Acres, named committees and their chairpersons at the monthly meeting at the Lee County Sheriff's Office East Zone station.

She urged the 40-plus members of the council to join one of the committees for this year.

Committees named were: Roads and Transportation, Ron Gogoi, chairman; Parks and Recreation, Orville Hall, chairman; Health, Education & Welfare, Ahmed El-Gendy, chairman; Code Enforcement, Phil Koenig, chairman; Beautification, Judy Brill, chairman; Youth Council, Don Poidevin and Andrea Adams as co-chairmen; Website, Jacqui Hill, chairman; Elections and Bylaws, Linda Carter, chairman; Incorporation, Rick Anglickis, chairman; Council Sponsored Events, Tami Baker, chairman; fund raising and membership, Damon Shelor, chairman; and publicity, Carol Cherigo as chairman.

Baker is the new president of the council for 2014.

The council is the only group in Lehigh that takes the issues of the people to county leaders. It is also the only agency that Lee County officials look at as the official group representing Lehigh's interests.

The public is invited to attend the meetings on the third Monday evening of each month. Meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. and are expected to last no longer than 8:30 p.m.

Members of the Council are elected by the registered voters of Lehigh. At the end of last year, the now defunct Lehigh Acres Community Planning Corp. became a part of the council.

Lee County Frank Mann of District 5 attends most meetings and often is called on for information and/or advice.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web