Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

$221,450 in scholarships presented by Kiwanis Club

Others also honored thanks to thrift store profits

June 11, 2014
SPECIAL TO THE CITIZEN ( , Lehigh Acres Citizen

This coming fall the Kiwanis Club of Lehigh Acres will be responsible for having 62 students enrolled in colleges and universities all across the country.

Students have been presented $221,450 in Lehigh Acres Kiwanis Club Foundation scholarships.

The special program was held Saturday night, June 7 in the Eunique Events Hall in Coral Plaza on Lee Blvd. in Lehigh Acres. More than 165 people attended and the event also honored teachers, town heroes and others.

"This year alone will be awarding 26 brand-new scholarships to Lehigh Acres residents, while renewing 18 previous recipients and we still have 18 students continuing their studies while receiving Kiwanis scholarships. This fall 62 students from Lehigh Acres will be enrolled and receiving scholarships from our Kiwanis club," said Rick Anglickis, event chairman.

He is also foundation and club director and a past lieutenant governor of Kiwanis.

This is all possible, Anglickis said, "because of the wonderful people who donate and purchase clothing and household items of all kinds from our Kiwanis Thrift Store."

"And it would be impossible without the many volunteers who donate their valuable time, talents, and energy at our store. We are thankful to each and every one of them for making these awards, and all of our community, school, and youth programs and sponsorships possible.

The college scholarship award winners are:

- Dayana Balsaobre

- Gonzlo Contreas

- Daniel Corral

- Seo Dieng

- Rickie Duncan

- Ronzall Evans

- Rosmery Garcia

- Judy-Ann Gault

- Peter Gooden

- Tiffany Herrera

- Luis Jara

- Oscar Lopez

- Mercedes Maradiaga

- Amy McDowell

- Jessica Mendez

- Elisa Nonlall

- Stephy Oge

- Jacob Pledger

- Veronica Ponce

The college scholarship renewals are:

- Blondine Cherisol

- Cindy Chery

- Claudia Corcho

- Marlaina Edwards

- Kayla Furfaro

- Katherine Gutierrez

- Kaylee Hartman

- Kira Herb

- Vilmarie Herrera

- Lisandra Ibarra

- Amber Jackson

- Shannon McBeath

- Brook Rayburn

- Michael Rodriguez

- Alicia Smith

- Jeffrey St. Firman

- Johnetta Williams

- Bailee Wolfert

Each year the Kiwanis awards to elementary and middle school students what are called "growable" scholarships in the amount of $250. Students have been selected because of their volunteering community service hours at their school, their church, or in their community.

The scholarship is "growable" because each year the recipients will have the opportunity to increase this scholarship by an additional $250, Anglickis said.

"They will have the opportunity to join our Kiwanis Leadership Program in the school that they will be attending this fall. And should they continue their volunteer service by providing 100 volunteer hours, then upon graduation from high school, our Kiwanis Foundation will total up the years and awards and present the students with a college scholarship in the total amount that they have received over the years.

"To middle school students this could mean a $1,250 scholarship awaits them, while grade school recipients could earn a scholarship in the amount of $2,000. We encourage these young students to join our Service Leadership Programs and learn the lessons of giving back to our community, and service to others, Anglickis said.

The winners are:

- Bryce Adams

- Aryanna Boria-Pagan

- Kassandra Caballero

- Trey Dingwall

- Lisa Dong

- Christian Guerra

- Avery Hinojsa

- Jeffery Natoli

- Jeilah Pabon

- Kylee Soltez

- Brittny Voss

Special awards included a $7,000 check presented to Florida Gulf State University (FGCU) for additional scholarships.

Three Walter Zeller fellows were presented to:

- Larry Gutridge

- Damon Shelor

- Rick Anglickis

Service to Youth Awards were presented to:

- Kim Conrad

- Mark Dietzler

- Jessica Flanders

- Bree Hamsher

- Jessica Nunn

- Irma Parajon

- Michelle Smith

- Gregg Stancel

- Sheila Stancel

- Clarie Turpin

- Jenee Waddell

The 2014 Hometown Hero Awards were presented to:

- Lehigh General & Implant Dentistry

- Community Services Day

- Dr. Denise Lottridge

- Dr. Brian Gear

- Dr. Miguel Schell

- Joe Pearson of Harvest Farms

- Sgt. Janet Rincon of the Lee County Sheriff's Office

- Deputy Christian Eriken of the Lee County Sheriff's Office

- Tommy Hotchkiss of the MDA Boot Drive



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web