Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

‘Early voting’ for Aug. 28 primary under way

August 22, 2018
By MEGHAN McCOY ( , Lehigh Acres Citizen

Early voting for the Aug. 28 Primary Election began Saturday and runs through Aug. 25 at 10 locations across Lee County, including two in Lehigh Acres.

Those sites are at the East County Regional Library, 881 Gunnery Road, and Veterans Park Recreation Center, 55 Homestead Road S.

The polls are open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day during early voting.

The Lee County Supervisor of Elections Office is ready for the primary that includes multiple races for both Republicans and Democrats as well as non-partisan races in which all voters may cast a ballot.

"We had our logic and accuracy test today. Everything tested fine," Lee County Supervisor of Elections Tommy Doyle said Wednesday afternoon.

There are 436,913 registered voters in Lee County - 187,732 registered as Republican, 118,272 as Democrat and 130,911 as "other."

The Lee County Elections Office mailed 123,164 domestic mail ballots at the end of July to those who had requested them or previously opted to cast their votes that way.

The office started opening those ballots last Wednesday with 56,972 returned as of Monday morning.

Another 2,828 voters cast ballots via early voting, bring the total to 60,148, including three ballots classified as "provisionary."

Voters who wish to request a mail in ballot still have time to do so before Election Day.

Registered voters still have time to request a mail ballot up until the Wednesday before the election - which is today, Doyle said, adding that voters who wait that long will have to drop off their mail ballots because they must be received by 7 p.m. Election Day, Aug. 28.

He said the Post Office recommends that the vote-by- mail ballots should be sent seven days prior to Election Day. Doyle cautioned that if they are not received by 7 p.m. they are not counted and will never be opened.

Voters should have received a sample ballot in their mailbox, which is inclusive to them. He said there are three ballot styles, Democratic, Republican and Non-Partisan.

"You can go online and see your custom ballot that you would get on Election day, or by mail, or early voting," Doyle said.

Those ballots can be viewed at

One hundred and twenty-seven polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Election Day, Tuesday, Aug. 28.

The local races on the Primary ballot include:

- County-wide Republican primary races (only Republicans may vote on the contests):

United States Senator: Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente and Rick Scott

Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Don Baldauf; Ron DeSantis; Timothy M. Devine; Bob Langford; John Joseph Mercadante; Bruce Nathan; Adam H. Putnam and Bob White

Attorney General Fiscal General: Ashley Moody and Frank White

Commissioner of Agriculture: Matt Caldwell; Denise Grimsley; Mike McCalister and Baxter Troutman

State Attorney 20th Judicial Circuit: Chris Crowley and Amira Fox

- District-only primaries

Representative in Congress District 17 (Only Republicans residing in District 17 may vote): Bill Akins; Julio Gonzalez and Greg Steube

State Representative District 79 (only Republicans residing in District 79 may vote): Matthew Shawn Miller and Spencer Roach

- County-wide Democratic Primary races (only Democrats may vote):

Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Andrew Gillum; Gwen Graham; Jeff Greene; Chris King; Philip Levine; Alex "Lundy" Lundmark and John Wetherbee

Attorney General Fiscal General: Sean Shaw and Ryan Torrens

Commissioner of Agriculture: Nicole "Nikki" Fried; Jeffrey Duane Porter and Roy David Walker

- District-only primaries

Representative in Congress District 19 (Only Democrats residing in District 19 can vote): David Holden and Todd James Truax

Representative in Congress District 17 (only Democrats residing in District 17 may vote): April Freeman and Bill Pollard

State Representative District 76 (Only Democrats residing in District 76 can vote): Neilson Croll Ayers and David Bogner

- County-wide, all voters regardless of party affiliation:

Circuit Judge 20th Judicial Circuit Group 8: James Wesley Chandler and John Owen McGowan

County Judge Group 7: Maria E. Gonzalez and David McElrath

School Board Member District 6 (at large; everyone votes): Nicholas Alexander; Lori Fayhee; Betsy Vaughn and Karen Putman Watson

- School Board races, non-partisan, district voters only

School Board Member District 1, (Only voters residing in District 1, mostly Cape Coral, Pine Island and Sanibel; regardless of party affiliation): Charles B. Dailey and Mary Fischer

School Board Member District 4, (Only voters residing in District 4, mostly Cape Coral, North Fort Myers and Dunbar, regardless of party affiliation): Don H. Armstrong; Debbie Jordan; Louis Navarra and Geraldine "Gerri" Ware

School Board Member District 5, (Only voters residing in District 5, mostly Lehigh Acres, regardless of party affiliation): Gwynetta "Gwyn" Gittens; Moses Jackson; Pamela LaRiviere; Taruas Pugh and Jon Larsen Shudlick



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web