homepage logo

Lehigh Kiwanis Club Scholarship Banquet

By Staff | Jul 15, 2021

Rick Anglickis and Dr. Greg Stancel. PHOTO PROVIDED

The theme of the Lehigh Kiwanis scholarship banquet was “Future Heroes.”  Two Hometown Heroes were also recognized.

The program was presented by the current club president, Sharon Hill; past president, Rick Anglickis; and the Division 19 Lieutenant Governor, Tina Pegler. 

Lehigh Senior High School Kiwanis Key Club members helped guide guests to their seats and served the meal from Olive Garden.  Division 19B Key Club Lieutenant Governor, Marcelo Suarez, joined the Key Club members.  The incoming 2021-2022 Division 19 Lt. Gov. Sandy Lepley, was also in attendance.  The entertainment was provided by Sydney Rodman, Olivia Schiller and Joshua Dixon.  These students had participated in the Learning for Life talent show.

Service to Youth Awards were presented to Kim Conrad, Bree Hamsher, Carolyn Hutto, Michelle Smith, and Winstana Watson who are teachers and school councilors as well as advisors to the Kiwanis Service Leadership Programs at their schools.  Dr. Greg Stancel received a special retirement award as he retires from the school system and his advisory role at Riverdale High School.

Growable Scholarships were presented to six students.  College Renewable Scholarships were awarded to eight students.  College Scholarships were awarded to 21 students.

Lehigh Sr. Key Club and Lt. Gov. Marcelo. PHOTO PROVIDED

The 2021 Hometown Hero awards were presented to Dayna Flores, Risk Manager and Manager of Performance Improvement at Lehigh Regional Medical Center.  Captain Mark Ballard from Lee County Sheriff Office presented the Hometown Hero award to Deputy Alexandria Davis

Reverend John Bashieri of New Life Assembly of God provided the invocation and benediction.

The Awards Banquet was held Friday, June 25, at Christ United Methodist Church.

Lehigh Senior High School. PHOTO PROVIDED

East Lee County High School. PHOTO PROVIDED

Dayna Flores and Sharon Hill. PHOTO PROVIDED

Capt. Mallard and Deputy Davis. PHOTO PROVIDED

Michelle Smith, Carolyn Hutto, Bree Hamsher and Kim Conrad. PHOTO PROVIDED

Sharon Hill, Marcelo Suarez and Tina Pegler. PHOTO PROVIDED